chocolate chip cookies.

Chocolate chip cookies are one of my favorite things to bake. They are so simple yet full of so much flavor. Plus, you don’t have to wait on everyone to enjoy this treat as you would with a pie or cake. ;)  I found this recipe on AllRecipes.com several years ago and it has been my go to recipe ever since. I have found many other chocolate chip cookie recipes since then and have been meaning to try them out, but everyone loves these cookies so much I just haven’t felt the need. I will have a mini cookie-off one day and give those other recipes a shot. I have modified the recipe slightly.  I use a different type of chocolate and I add some salt because I love the mix of sweet and salty in desserts.

One of my favorite places in New York City is Jacques Torres. He makes the most wonderful chocolate chip cookies that he calls French Kiss cookies, a variety of chocolates, and supremely rich hot chocolate.  He also sells giant chocolate discs that you can use in your own cookies. Whenever I am in New York I stock up on these chocolate discs. If you are lucky enough to live in the area I recommend stopping by his shop, he has several locations in Manhattan and his flagship store is in Brooklyn.  If you visit his shop in Brooklyn be sure and check out his bakery, Almondine, right across the street.  If that’s not an option, Ghiradelli sells mini chocolate discs you can find at any grocery store. I like using the chocolate discs as opposed to chips because the chocolate spreads better and tastes delicious. In the recipe below I recommended 2-4 cups of chocolate discs depending on the size. If you use Ghiradelli discs I recommend using the full 4 cups.  I love bittersweet chocolate but you can always replace it with semi-sweet chocolate.  If I have Ghiradelli baking chocolate bars on hand I will also cut up a half to a whole bar and add in those pieces in addition to the chocolate discs, you can’t have too much chocolate! You can also add in chocolate chips in addition to the discs.

RECIPE:

4 1/2 cups all-purpose flour [I love King Arthur’s flour]

2 teaspoons baking soda

1/2 teaspoon fine-coarse ground salt

2 cups butter, softened [I usually use 1 cup unsalted and 1 cup salted butter]

1 1/2 cups packed brown sugar

1/2 cup white sugar

2 (3.4 ounce) packages instant vanilla pudding mix

4 eggs

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

2-4 cups bittersweet chocolate discs

2 cups chopped walnuts

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Sift together the flour, baking soda, and salt set aside.

2. In a large bowl, cream together the butter, brown sugar, and white sugar. Beat in the instant pudding mix until blended. Stir in the eggs and vanilla. Blend in the flour mixture.

3. Stir in chocolate chips and nuts. Drop cookies by rounded spoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheets.

4. Bake for 10 to 12 minutes in the preheated oven. I usually bake my first batch for 11 minutes and all other batches for 10 minutes, every oven is different though so just keep an eye on the cookies. When I take them out of the oven they look slightly undercooked from the top but are fully cooked on the bottom and inside.  They look perfect once cooled for a few minutes. Eat them right away and you will be rewarded with a mini chocolate waterfall.

One comment

  1. OMG!!! My mouth is watering. I hope to try these out soon. I’m going to give your blog link to the VA surgery nurses..they’ve been begging for this recipe!

Leave a Reply

